Site Search:

About Classifications

What you watch on commercial television has been classified to comply with a Code of Practice.

Program classification symbols and warnings are usually displayed at the beginning of a program. Information can also be found on most digital devices via the electronic program guide (EPG) and in TV guides in newspapers, magazines and online.

A brief description of G, PG, M, and MA classifications are listed below.

Children’s (C) and Preschool (P) Classification

Material classified C or P is designed specifically to meet children’s interests. C and P programs deal with stories, concepts and ideas that are of interest to children and present them in a manner appropriate for the child audience.

The General (G) Classification

Material classified G is not necessarily intended for children, but it must be very mild in impact and must not contain any matter likely to be unsuitable for children to watch without supervision. 

The Parental Guidance Recommended (PG) Classification

Material classified PG may contain careful presentations of adult themes or concepts but must be mild in impact and remain suitable for children to watch with supervision.

The Mature (M) Classification

Material classified M is recommended for viewing only by persons aged 15 years or over because of the matter it contains, or the way this matter is treated.

The Mature Audience (MA) Classification

Material classified MA is suitable for viewing only by persons aged 15 years or over, due to the intensity and/or frequency of sexual depictions, or coarse language, adult themes or drug use.

More Information

Please note, some sporting events and news and current affairs programs are not subject to program classification requirements.

The Commercial Television Industry Code of Practice provides detailed information and descriptions about program classifications and classifications of films for broadcast on TV.

For detailed classification descriptions, click here.
To download the Commercial Television Industry Code of Practice, click here.